Places Named UNESCO World Heritage Sites In 2017

In order for a place to be included on the UNESCO World Heritage site list, “sites must be of outstanding universal value and meet at least one out of ten selection criteria.” According to the UNESCO website, the 10 selection criteria include: to represent a masterpiece of human creative genius; to exhibit an important interchange of human values, over a span of time or within a cultural area of the world, on developments in architecture or technology, monumental arts, town-planning or landscape design; to bear a unique or at least exceptional testimony to a cultural tradition or to a civilization which is living or which has disappeared; to be an outstanding example of a type of building, architectural or technological ensemble or landscape which illustrates (a) significant stage(s) in human history; to be an outstanding example of a traditional human settlement, land-use, or sea-use which is representative of a culture (or cultures), or human interaction with the environment especially when it has become vulnerable under the impact of irreversible change; to be directly or tangibly associated with events or living traditions, with ideas, or with beliefs, with artistic and literary works of outstanding universal significance; to contain superlative natural phenomena or areas of exceptional natural beauty and aesthetic importance; to be outstanding examples representing major stages of earth’s history, including the record of life, significant on-going geological processes in the development of landforms, or significant geomorphic or physiographic features; to be outstanding examples representing significant on-going ecological and biological processes in the evolution and development of terrestrial, fresh water, coastal and marine ecosystems and communities of plants and animals; and to contain the most important and significant natural habitats for in-situ conservation of biological diversity, including those containing threatened species of outstanding universal value from the point of view of science or conservation.

There are currently over 1,000 places on the list, with more and more being added each year. Here are some places that were added to the list in 2017.

1. Kulangsu Island, China

2. Yazd, Iran

3. Aphrodisias, Turkey

travelfuntu - Aphrodisias, Turkey

4. Assumption Cathedral, Sviyazhsk, Russia

5. Swabian Jura Caves, Germany

6. Kujataa, Denmark

7. Okinoshima, Japan

travelfuntu - Okinoshima, Japan

8. Hebron Old City, Israel

9. Venetian Works of Defense – Croatia, Italy, Montenegro

10. Khomani Cultural Landscape, South Africa

11. Landscapes of Dauria, Mongolia/Russia

12. Sambor Prei Kuk, Cambodia

13. Qinghai Hoh Xil, China

14. Taputapuatea, Ra’iatea Island

travelfuntu - 14. Taputapuatea, Ra'iatea Island

15. Mbanza Kongo, Angola

16. Tarnowskie Góry Lead-Silver-Zinc Mine, Poland

17. Lake District, United Kingdom

18. Valongo Wharf Archeological Site, Brazil

19. Los Alerces, Argentina

20. Ahmedabad, India

travelfuntu - Ahmedabad, India